Saturday, June 18, 2011

End Of Season Awards

NHL Awards - Nobody leaves without a trophy in their arms
With the NHL season officially at a close and the biggest trophy of them all handed out, we suited up and held our own Awards Show at the Legion. We were half in the bag when we arrived, and a majority of the show was a blur, but we were told that we were much funnier than Jay Mohr - no easy feat. Here are the Dirty Dangle End Of Season Awards.

Hart Memorial Trophy - Corey Perry

At Mid-Season, Sidney was already engraved in the trophy, but since he got concussed we have to give it someone else. That man is Corey Perry. We made this decision before the playoffs so Daniel Sedin's playoff play is a non-factor. Perry didn't just put up goals and points, he killed penalties and was a pain in the ass for his opponents to play against. In our mind, Corey Perry is the Most Valuable Player this year.

Vezina Trophy - Tim Thomas

With a 2.00 GAA and single season NHL record .938 save percentage, Timmay Thomas takes this. It was a very good season for goalies, but Thomas flopped his body in front of a lot of pucks and captured our hearts. His road hockey goalie style didn't fail him this season, and having Zdeno Chara in front of you probably didn't hurt either. Can't wait to see his big smile when he picks up this trophy.

James Norris Memorial Trophy - Shea Weber

Nick Lidstrom hasn't won this trophy since 2008, and he won't this year. Mike Green has shown that putting up points doesn't make you a Norris winner. Shea Weber had an outstanding season with 16 goals and 48 points. Throw in 211 hits, 113 blocked shots, and 62 takeaways and you have your best all around defenceman. We should note his playoff beard was a non-factor in this decision.

Calder Trophy - Jeff Skinner

All three finalists had tremendous seasons, and each has a solid argument for why they should take home this award. Jeff "Bieber on Ice" Skinner will take home this hardware. He was the rookie scoring leader as an 18-year-old, and impressed everyone with his skill and poise. The youngest player in the NHL proved he belongs - not bad for a figure skater.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy - Ray Emery

After seeing an Elliotte Friedman piece on Ray Emery's comeback and how he rebounded from his injury, it was a no brainer. He filled in for the vertigo-ridden Jonas Hiller admirably - with no bone in his leg - posting solid numbers that caught everyone by surprise. Say what you want about Emery off-ice, but you can't deny he worked his ass off to get back in the Show.

Jack Adams Award - Dan Bylsma

No Crosby? No Malkin? Staal had another setback? These are all questions Bylsma asked his staff. Without his best players for a majority of the season, Bylsma still pulled the Penguins into the playoffs with an impressive 49 wins. That HBO special probably helped his fanfare too, and the fact that he had to deal with having Matt Cooke on his team.

Frank J. Selke Trophy - Ryan Kesler

Ryan Kesler will finally take the Selke from Pavel Datsyuk's nifty mittens. Kesler's play defines the term two-way forward and his hard work ethic is shown through his abdominal muscles. Kesler is a coach's dream with statistics like 41 goals, +24, and 65 takeaways, and we think he had this award even if Datsyuk was healthy all season.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy - Martin St. Louis

St. Louis finished 2nd in points with 99, and only had 12 PIM all season. He had a 62 game streak in which he did not take a single penalty. No accidental high sticks, no hooks, no slashes, no lazy trips. For those that think its a pussy award (cough Alexander Mogilny cough), think about it - you're a better player out of the penalty box and 99 points don't lie.

That's it for our End Of Season Awards. What do you think about our selections?

Like this post? You might also like:

The NHL Awards Shouldn't Suck



  2. As much as I dont want Daniel Sedin to win, I think he will get the Hart...

  3. I hope Shea Weber wins. It's his turn and I don't think Chara even deserves to be in the top 3.

  4. I agree with pretty much everything here guys.

    Hart - Perry, for sure. He really helped Anaheim get into the playoffs at the end there.
    Vezina - Thomas. No argument at all here.
    Norris - Weber will most likely win, but I would still even pick Lidstrom here. I know I'm biased, but the guy was still unreal this season, I think the only reason he WON'T win is because he was a minus.
    Calder - Skinner easily. If this counted playoffs, the trophy would read "Pinocchio."
    Masterton - Ray Emery for sure.
    Adams - Boucher. You guys made solid points about Bylsma, but I just felt that a first year coach getting THAT much out of a brand new system for guys that hadn't played it before was unreal.
    Selke - Kesler will win it.
    Byng - St. Louis for sure.

  5. We only went with guys that were nominated, or else we would be rooting for Boucher as well. Guy is a winner at every level he's coached.

  6. I think Dan Sedin gets the Hart. The NHL loves swedes

  7. Oh wow... sorry guys I thought Boucher was nominated.

  8. I am glad Perry won the Hart. He plays on the PK and I think has more to do with the game then the Sedins who just play PP.

  9. The award is a genuine exhibit of the sort of association you are. It is the portrayal of your association. Give us a chance to see a few points that will help us in picking a decent trophy/award supplier. crystal employee recognition awards


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...